El Presidente Juan!

Juan

Juan showing his love for the Boston Red Sox!

 

Tell us a little bit about yourself. Where are you from, you major & cohort?

My name is Juan Lara and I am originally from Panama City, Panama. I’m doing the MBA/MS in Manufacturing Engineering and I am part of Cohort D.

 

What did you do before business school? Why did you decide to go to business school?

Before business school I worked as an Aerodynamics Engineer at the Boeing Company Commercial Airplanes division. I was part of a rotation program and spent most of my time in Simulation helping train pilots to fly new aircrafts and collecting flight test data for simulator updates. I decided to go to school to get into Management of New Product Development with an interest in high tech products (in particular private space products).

 

Tracing back the last 8 months in Boston, can you top 3 things would make your study or daily life much easier if you knew them before you coming to Boston?

  • What are snow boots? You are telling me there is a way to walk around and not slip and fall in every corner when there is ice outside? They should give those out during preterm!
  • Talk about places to study and eat all day! A visit to the dinning hall in the building next door made life easier during those intense modules. A tour of this place would have changed my eating habits earlier on!
  • Most of the people riding the green line are just really angry most of the time… It’s contagious though, have you been in the green line?

 

What is the most valuable thing that this program brings to you?

A good international perspective and the opportunity to apply newly acquired business concepts through the integrated projects.

 

As international students, what were the challenges you faced when you first came to the US? Was it difficult to adapt to the environment or you see it as interesting experience?

Most of the challenges were cultural and language difficulties. At first it was hard due to the shock of being in a new country far from your family and friends but it has become a really interesting experience as you get to see others people perspectives about the same topics and you get to meet really interesting and very different people than what you are accustomed to.

 

Tell us a funny incident that happened to you because you were an international in the US.

I was once arrested for trying to break into my own car. I left my car keys inside the car and realized the morning before heading to work. I tried using my own Panamanian methods (trying to get the lock open with hangers!) but the police did not think it was a legitimate method to open my own car.

 

5 words that best describe your life here in Boston.

History, chaos, friendships, learning, sports

Leave a comment